Freedom in Colorado

It’s good to feel free.

This past December I took some time off and went to Colorado for ten days. I went to visit a few friends and take some time to myself to do some exploring, hiking, and beer drinking. I traveled fairly light, I managed to take everything I needed in two carry-on sized bags. Gear was especially light, I only had my cell phone and my Voigtlander with a few rolls of Tri-X with me, it was all I wanted to carry. No DSLRs, just the basics. I ended up taking a lot of photos of breweries, nature, and spaces I thought were interesting. The photos below tell a brief story of the trip. As always these are straight scans, the most I did with them was a bit of exposure corrections and cleaning up of scratches, nothing more. All photos made with my Voigtlander Bessa R3A, Nokton 40mm f/1.4 SC, Tri-X shot at box speed and developed in Diafine.

Colorado Film Scans_20150311_001
Great Divide Brewing

 

Colorado Film Scans_20150311_002
Great Divide Brewing

 

 

I made some new friends at Great Divide, The two in the foreground were a married couple from Texas on a beer tour of Colorado. We got to talking and decided to go to some of our favorite places as a group.

Colorado Film Scans_20150311_003
Epic Brewing

While not a native Colorado brewery, Epic Brewing was our next stop. It was only 8 blocks away and it seemed like the logical thing to do. After a few other watering holes I decided to take a day to myself and go to the mountains. I spent the following day in Frisco mostly hiking around and talking to a glass blower.

The mountains at Frisco, CO
The mountains at Frisco, CO
The mountains at Frisco, CO
The mountains at Frisco, CO
Glass blower. Frisco, CO
Glass blower. Frisco, CO
Glass blowing station, Frisco, CO
Glass blowing station, Frisco, CO

You could participate if you wanted to, he was very generous with letting people heat and mold the final product.

A visitor partaking in the glass blowing process. Frisco, CO
A visitor partaking in the glass blowing process. Frisco, CO

A few more shots of watering holes and breweries. I especially love getting photos of the workers in these places, seeing how things are made is one of my favorite things to be able to witness.

Breckenridge taproom. Denver, CO
Breckenridge taproom. Denver, CO
Boulder Beer, CO
Boulder Beer, CO
Boulder Beer, CO
Boulder Beer, CO
The fermenters at Great Divide. Denver CO
The fermenters at Great Divide. Denver CO
High Five in the brewery. Denver, CO
High Five in the brewery. Denver, CO

I did my part and visited some art museums, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Spending time to dissect paintings and photographs is important.

Colorado Film Scans_20150311_017
Clyfford Still Museum. Denver, CO
Denver Museum of Modern Art. Denver, CO
Denver Museum of Modern Art. Denver, CO

 

I couchsurfed for the second half of my trip. I stayed in a house in Five Points with some very musical and creative individuals. I enjoyed staying there and talking about music and learning from others. This was their living room.

Five Points. Denver, CO
Five Points. Denver, CO

Five Points is one of the most culturally interesting places in Denver, it’s a historical representation of all of the change that the city has seen throughout its existence. I could try to write an article about it but there are so many already written, and I’m not much of a writer anyway.

Butcher Block Cafe. Denver, CO
Butcher Block Cafe. Denver, CO
Butcher Block Cafe. Denver, CO
Butcher Block Cafe. Denver, CO

The Butcher Block Cafe was incredible. A diner after my own heart.

 

All in all, I was able to mentally and physically stretch, relax, and enjoy myself while I was in Colorado. Sometimes having all of that space to yourself is what you need the most.

Twilight. Longmont, CO
Twilight. Longmont, CO

 

 

Leave a Reply

