Minneapolis Nights

It’s always interesting to see how a city changes throughout the day. Different people come out, different places become popular while other streets become deserted, at least that’s how it is around here in Minneapolis from personal observation. Well, I take the people part back, some of the people are the same, but are just “dressed to impress” on weekends ;) A city is a living, breathing creature that seems to have a mind of it’s own, trying to understand an entire city is probably impossible to do without getting at the little nuances of it. Experiencing each street, each streetside store, cafe, etc. and really letting the place sink in, and only then will you begin to understand it, I don’t think you can ever fully understand any place, at least not in words. With images probably, with words no. I feel like every time I’m out with my camera I’m not only creating artwork but I’m also documenting my increasing understanding of how Minneapolis works, what makes it tick. With that in mind, a lot of these next shots were taken in the same place, the warehouse district to be exact, at a certain time frame: 11pm to about 1am. I’ve been out at night in that place before, but never with a camera. Being a bystander really changes your perspective on what you think you know about a place, you take the passenger seat as opposed to the driver’s seat in the journey, it was an interesting outing.

All photos taken with a Pentax ME Super, 50mm f/1.7, Tri-X EI 1600 and developed in Diafine.

This shot is my favorite from the night, by far. It’s amazing that amongst all of what goes in the warehouse district this split second happened, right in front of me. I mean, what are the odds? It’s weird to think about photographs that way, the odds of that exact frame being right in front of you at that exact time. Everything was right on here, which surprised nobody more than myself because I don’t even remember taking this, and when that happens it usually means nothing good came out. The Tri-X and Diafine comination really shines here too.

Juxtaposed

Some guys decided to dick around when the saw my camera, whatever. It happens, but moments like the one happening directly to their left aren’t as easy to come across in that area at night.

Double Take

She was probably bar hopping, and then decided to look back where she came from, I think she was looking at me. I don’t remember any more, but the shot seems to suggest that she was.

Close to Far

A “geometric” moment no doubt, one of those things you stumble across when just standing around a place looking about.

Bar Guys

Walked past these guys a few times, they asked my friend and I to take their picture both times I think, this was right before that happened. They were having some drunken conversation beforehand, saw us and just had to capture themselves on camera, as a lot of drunks oh so love to do.

Light Rail Conversation

Another geometric moment, this was happening across the street from a few bars. The light rail is one of my favorite subjects to photograph because of the constant crowd change going on. It’s like a street corner, but much larger.

3 thoughts on “Minneapolis Nights

    1. Yup, all of these are completely candid. Thanks for the comments, Hopefully more will be on it’s way soon :)

Leave a Reply

